~ Dream Mumbai: An iPhone Photo Journal ~

Most of you already know I’ve moved to India on a Fulbright Scholarship. Before I left people kept on saying two things: you must keep a journal and please blog more often. I cringed every time I heard the words because I’m not the type to keep a diary or to write consistent blog posts. I have however found a new obsession that may indeed make me journal and blog. Since arriving to Mumbai, I have gotten in the habit of taking long walks, sometimes well over 4 hours. It’s an easy way to observe, exercise, learn the roads and feel like you are part of masses. I take my iphone with me and make images along the way. It keeps me focused and keeps me working on composition, lighting and moment at all times. But best of all it’s a visual diary of my experience…pixel memories in a way. After posting images for three weeks on facebook, I got loads of positive responses, so a side project has begun. Another obsessive compulsion to add to the list. I’m working on a new blog site, but until then I wanted to share some of my favorite considered snaps.

~ by kainazamaria on January 3, 2010.

3 Responses to “~ Dream Mumbai: An iPhone Photo Journal ~”

  1. beautiful seeing kai. knowing what a perfectionist you are, it’s nice to see you being loose and fluid and most importantly having fun with your photography again. more than a perfect composition or the decisive moment, these images all have feeling — and you can’t teach that.

  2. Beautiful stuff. I just replaced my iphone and started shooting with it. It’s be refreshing having it there at the tip of my fingers. I love your stuff. I can’t wait to see the new blog.

    L

  3. What m said. Also, you a person who can make art out of her iphone. I wish I had a script of the angsty discussion we once had about people who do that with a point and shoot. You have surpassed them, K, and I am so impressed.

    p.s. if you start a new blog with these please do some PR and tell us about it. No more stealth.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

