~ The Faces of Race ~

A Short-term Documentary on the Expression of Facial Features in Bi-Racial Children.

I began this project wanting to document how different features are expressed in bi-racial children. As I was creating the final book I began to realize that this project goes much deeper. In speaking with the parents about who they see in their children’s faces, I felt the love and devotion in their voices as they tried to articulate an answer. What came out was pure and simple, their child or children are a personificatin of their love for each other. Whether their child had their mom’s eyes or their dad’s nose, those details were minor compared to the greater picture. In fact I found the children to be honest 50/50 representations of their parents, whether it is expressed through their facial features or facial mannerisms. I want to thank all the families that spent a portion of their precious Saturday with me in the studio. I realize the greatest creation in life is truly another life.

Yi-Ting Wany/Taiwanese, Hannah Bernstein/Taiwanese&American, Neil Bernstein/Jewish-American

bernstein_triptyct.jpg

When I see Hannah, I see Neil a lot. I can recognize that Bernstein smile. I think she imitates my facial expressions but has many of his features. ~ Yi-Ting Wang
We were fascinated before Hannah was born of how her nose would turn out. And it is indeed bigger than Yi-Ting’s and smaller than mine…right in the middle. ~Neil Bernstein

Jeff Kallet/Caucasian, Nathan Kallet/Caucasian&Chinese, Hui-Chun “Bonnie” Kallet/Chinese

kallet_triptych.jpg

When I look at Nathan I see love, beauty and innocence. I see the personification of my love with Bonnie. I see the joy in his face and spirit in everything, the good and the bad. ~Jeff Kallet
I see him everyday so it’s difficult to say. I feel lucky to have him. When I look at Jeff’s old baby pictures I realize the Nathan looks a lot like him. ~Bonnie Kallet

Haajima Degia/Barbadian of Indian Descent, Abdullah and Maymunah Elcok Barbadian of Indian & African Descent, Lawrence Elcok/Barbadian of African Descent

elcock_quad.jpg

In Abdullah I see me, very much. In Maymunah I see her mother. ~Lawrence Elcock
I think I see myself when I look at both my children. But, I see more of myself in Abdullah. ~ Haajima Degia

~ One Last Thought ~

A common dream, born of two continents. My parents shared not only an improbable love, they shared an abiding faith in the possibilities of this nation. They would give me an African name, Barack, or “blessed,” believing that in a tolerant America your name is no barrier to success.
~ Senator Barack Obama
Son of Ann Dunham (born in Wichita, Kansas) and Barack Obama, Sr. (born in Nyanza Province, Kenya)

~ by kainazamaria on April 19, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
