~ Lost in Lincoln ~

It’s funny, this photo thing. I feel what makes me a good photojournalist is the fact that I can connect with people fairly quickly. In fact, it’s more than that. I can fall in love with people fairly quickly. Not that cheesy word “love” that some throw around carelessly. But the genuine kind. The kind that validates your place in the world. That makes you realize you have a purpose. The kind of love that fills you with warmth and makes you smile without provocation.

So herein lies the conundrum. I make good images because I have the ability to fall in love with the person on the other side of my camera. And then, I have to go. I have to leave. I have to move to a new city. I have no one. All family, friends and acquaintances are far away. And I find myself: Lost in Lincoln.

But this is what we do. We give all of ourselves to the people and the places we meet. We laugh, we cry and we love with them. And then we move. We find ourselves alone. No one knows who we are or where we’ve been. It’s thrilling and terrifying at the same time.

I know I’ll fall in love in Lincoln. It always happens. The cycle repeats. Move in. Cry a bit. Buy some good cheese and wine. Meet an interesting person. Start over. It’s hard. But it’s my choice and therefore it’s all up to me.

If anyone is reading this, just know that I love you for it.

~ by kainazamaria on June 20, 2007.

3 Responses to “~ Lost in Lincoln ~”

  1. You should do a personal photo essay called “Lost in Lincoln” 🙂 It would be great to see how your distance from things changes over time 🙂

  2. We are thinking of you, here in Athens. And we miss you, too. You will “love Lincoln” and make amazing photographs and they will be enrich by them. Have a good time and when you get back to Athens, you’ll have amazing stories to tell.

  3. Can’t wait to catch up with you, Kainaz. All the best, in the meanwhile / E!

Leave a Reply

 
